An Easter Egg in the Toilet

Today was a pretty good day. My wife woke me early in the morning to tell me I could sleep in. About 30 minutes later she got back from dropping the kids off at school and asked if I could go grocery shopping with her. I told her I wanted to sleep in, so she asked me again.

I really did need to get up and unclog the toilet. The day before, my little 14 month old found half of a plastic Easter Egg–we have no idea where she found it. But she did manage to throw it into the toilet as it was flushing. She was a good little girl and waved by-by at least.

I have never run into a problem like this before, and I think that having kids and a family is the perfect training-ground for dealing with unexpected events. My single friends get flustered when things start going unexpectedly, but when you get home after a 14 hour shift and walk into your bathroom and there is a pumpkin in the bathtub and a sink full paint stains, you just roll with the punches.

Today I bought a drain auger and didn’t even google what I was about to do. This wasn’t my first rodeo, and I’m sure that I will be the clown and the bull rider some day, then at the end I will be the announcer, but today I am the plumber! I can’t imagine life without all these interruptions, I do try, but I am always interrupted by life.

Life is what I am living, and if you see all this as a burden then I know you are missing the greatest adventure. I used to think that kids hampered my freedom, but they really only keep me out of trouble. I like my life. It is hard work sometimes, but it’s worth it. I mean, how else am I going to find a baby to clog a toilet with an Easter Egg in the middle of December?

Leave a Reply

